The Storm In The Barn By Matt Phelan

The Storm In The Barn

By Matt Phelan

Chandlewick Press, Somerville, 2009

Borrowed from the library.

Interestingly, this beautiful graphic novel is, like The Castaways,
about the dust bowl years of the depression in the mid-west.

Jack Clark, eleven years old and facing the normal problems of growing up and feeling the disruptions in his family also faces the devastating effects of the drought.  He sees a strangle light in n abandoned barn.  Is it real or is he beginning to suffer some strange illness brought by the dust?

In a story filled with mystery and beautifully drawn and painted, Matt Phelan brings us a images of Mid-west during the 1930’s   and of a young boy facing the challenges of growing up.

The Storm In The Barn has won the Scott O’Dell Award for historic fiction.  Make sure you visit Matt Phelan’s site to learn more about this wonderful book.

6 Comments

Filed under Graphic Novel Challenge 2010, Graphic Novels

6 responses to “The Storm In The Barn By Matt Phelan

  1. I read this book twice this year! I didn’t think I could do justice to it with a review. What did you think of the ending? I loved the illustrations by Phelan. What a talented author!

    • I liked the fact that Jack’s father turned to him and asked for his help. I would have liked more of an explaination of the “Rain King” and the orange satchel, but that’s just because of my love of lore and myth. Phelan did a beautiful job with this. I will have to read it again!

  2. I’ve heard nothing but great stuff about this one and Gavin, you have me even more excited to read it now!! Can’t wait to get my hands on this one. Looks awesome :)

  3. This looks really good… I can’t decide if I want to read it or not.

Leave a Reply

