The Last Dragon by Jane Yolen and Rebecca Guay

The Last Dragon by Jane Yolen and Rebecca Guay

Dark Horse Books, Milwaukie, OR, 2011

Borrowed from my local library.

A fantasy in graphic novel form by one of my favorite authors.  I have been a fan of Jane Yolen for many years, ever since I read Sister Light, Sister Dark.  She has written so many books I haven’t been able to keep up.  I stumbled upon The Last Dragon while looking through the graphic/comic shelf at my local library and had to bring it home.

This is a dark and wonderful tale of an herbalist’s daughter, Tansy,  who finds out that dragons did not, in fact, die out two hundred years ago.  One has risen from the earth and is terrorizing her village.  With the help of a reluctant hero, she manages to find and slay this last dragon and save her town.

The artwork by Rebecca Guay is stunning, pen and ink drawings with rich, deep water color.  This book is worth looking at for the art alone but the story, woven with herbal lore and a bit of romance, is lovely.

10 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Once Upon A Time VI

10 responses to “The Last Dragon by Jane Yolen and Rebecca Guay

  1. aartichapati

    I’ve never read Yolen (I don’t think), but I have heard nothing but good about her. I would love to read this graphic novel- it looks beautiful.

  2. I just read this book recently- it was a wonderful surprise as I’d never read any graphic novels by Yolen before. I loved the artwork.

  3. Wow … the artwork is amazing! Almost like a stained glass window. And I think I only know Yolen from writing kid’s books (How Does A Dinosaur Say Goodnight?) or am I completely mistaken.

  4. What beautiful artwork–they look like stained glass windows! I’ve read a lot of Yolen, but I didn’t know she had any graphic novels.

  5. I love Jane Yolen’s works, (my favorite is also Briar Rose!), so I know I would enjoy this graphic novel. It’s now on my must-read-this-summer list! Thanks!

  6. Pingback: Four Graphic Novel Mini-Reviews « Fyrefly's Book Blog

Leave a comment