Love Begins In Winter by Simon Van Booy

Love Begins in Winter: Five Stories by Simon Van Booy

Harper Perennial, New York, 2009

Borrowed from my library.

Often when I read a story collection I will devour two or three at a time, like some snack i can’t stop eating.  Simon Van Booy’s stories are like a velvety rich Creme Brule.  I could only have one and then savored it over days until I was ready for the next.

These stories are about people finding love in many forms, sometimes when they least expect it.  The writing is dreamy and lyrical, the stories strange and sometimes sad,  perfect for dark rainy afternoons curled up with a hot cup of tea.

I wasn’t sure what to write about this book because it strikes me as very personal,  I’m sure each reader, if they enjoy these stories at all, will be deeply touched at some level.  I was.

In September, 2009, Love Begins in Winter won the Frank O’Connor Award, the world’s richest prize for a short story collection.

Other reviews:

The Bluestocking Society

Caribousmom


9 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Orbis Terrarum 2009, Stories

9 responses to “Love Begins In Winter by Simon Van Booy

  1. I confess, I don’t generally have the best of luck with short story collections, but something about the title of Van Booy’s stories always make me think that I would like him if I gave him a shot! I’m glad you found this collection so richly rewarding – sounds like he was well deserving of the O’Connor prize!

  2. So glad you enjoyed this collection as I did…you described it just write: The writing is dreamy and lyrical, the stories strange and sometimes sad, perfect for dark rainy afternoons curled up with a hot cup of tea.

    Thanks for the link love too :)

  3. Whoops…meant to say…You described it just RIGHT. Geez…I must be tired!

  4. This book keeps popping up in my reader occasionally…in a good way. People seem to love it. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it.

  5. ckl

    i want to read this book.

  6. I haven’t reviewed this yet, but read it recently and thought it was fantastic. I enjoyed all the different settings in each of the stories, and his style was so engrossing.

  7. Pingback: Love Begins in Winter « Care's Online Book Club

  8. I totally agree with this sentence:

    Simon Van Booy’s stories are like a velvety rich Creme Brule. I could only have one and then savored it over days until I was ready for the next.

    I’ve reread both of Simon’s books, many times. I crave his stories. But, they’re best savored one at a time, allowed to roll around in one’s head and heart for a while. His first book, The Secret Lives of People in Love, has just been re-released by HarperPerennial. You should definitely read that one, too. You’ll love it.

Leave a comment