Sunday Salon

TSSbadge3“What is the Sunday Salon? Imagine some university library’s vast reading room. It’s filled with people–students and faculty and strangers who’ve wandered in. They’re seated at great oaken desks, books piled all around them, and they’re all feverishly reading and jotting notes in their leather-bound journals as they go. Later they’ll mill around the open dictionaries and compare their thoughts on the afternoon’s literary intake….”

It’s the last week of school, always a time of great excitment and some sadness.  We have picnics and field day and a little time to reflect on the year, what worked, what didn’t and what we can try next year.  I’ll be spending part of the summer moving and organizing our library and hopefully acquiring some new books!

Have needed to come up for air this past week after several intense books and a tired brain so indulged my love of mysteries and read Missing by Karin Alvtegen and started Nemesis by Jo Nesbo.  For some reason, when I want sheer entertainment,  I am hooked on Swedish/Norwegian/Icelandic crime fiction!  Then, after visiting Caribousmom I discovered the Mystery Read-a-thon, too late to join this time but I’m on it for next time.

4rsaddressbutton150I also joined the 4 Rs Challenge organized by Fyrefly and Literate Housewife.  Please check this one out, it is great fun and a wonderful way to meet other book lovers and get book recommendations.

I am still working on the poetry web site, not giving up on that one and hope to have it up soon.

Have a wonderful week!

6 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

6 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. I joined the 4R Challenge as well. It has been a source of obsession. All I do is run amuck over there. But what a fun concept! These girls are brilliant. I have literally spent the entire day working on my posts that will work while I am in Poland. 2 1/2 weeks worth of posts is more than I realized!

    • Sandy – 4Rs is lots of fun. Poland? When are you going? No internet access? I’m planning on taking a break while on vacation in July. We’ll see if I stick to it.

  2. Glad you are enjoying the Swedish/Scandinavian crime fiction Gavin.
    Have you seen the CWA International Crime short list?
    http://paradise-mysteries.blogspot.com/2009/06/cwa-international-dagger-shortlist.html
    Alvtegen, Larsson, Nesbo, Theorin, Indridason are all there

    • Kerrie – What an exciting list! I have several of these on hold at my library but I had not heard of Theorin before and will add that one right away. I also love Vargas. It is a very tought call. Thanks for the link.

  3. Oh I’m a big fan of Scandinavian crime fiction. Have you read the series by Arnaldur Indridason? That’s a great one. I’ve got the Jo Nesbo book on my shelf so one of these days I’ll get to it :)

  4. I must be the last blogger in the world who hasn’t read Scandinavian crime fiction. One more genre to conquer! =) The last week of school must be busy but exciting.I’m going to check out the 4 Rs challenge.

Leave a comment