Sunday Salon – A Slow Week

Greetings and happy Sunday Salon.

It has been a slow reading week for me as I finished up Wolf Hall , tried to assimilate all that I read and found it difficult jumping into another book.  I am working on a review but am struggling to find the words I want.  I loved this book and am in complete awe of Hilary Mantel’s writing style and intelligence.  I have added A Place of Greater Safety to my TBR list but will wait a while before I read it.  It runs close to 900 pages.

I did finish reading  Topdog/Underdog and wrote a short review. Because it took so long for me to get through Mantel’s book I had to return some other books back to the library.   I picked up a few more.  Three of these are by authors I’ve never read before.

I also picked up several picture books.  I find them to be a pleasure for the eye and often they are a joy to read.  I will write about them if  I like them.

I have started reading Tinkers and  find in interesting and unusual.  Have you heard of or read this book?

17 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon, Uncategorized

17 responses to “Sunday Salon – A Slow Week

  1. I had to briefly abandon Wolf Hall while reading East of Eden (I can only manage one chunkster at a time). But I finished EoE last night and am now looking forward to making some progress with Wolf Hall.

  2. Oooh, I’ve been meaning to get my hands on Filter House! I look forward to hearing your thoughts. If you love it, I probably will too :P

    • I first heard about Nisi from someone I know who attended a Clarion West workshop. When I aw her name on the Tiptree award list I remembered it and knew I had to read her stories.

  3. I really look forward to your Wolf Hall review.

    I’ve read about Tinkers and am curious about that novel as well. Fascinating choices, Gavin!

  4. The more I hear about Wolf Hall, the more I want to read it! I hope you have a great week, Gavin.

  5. I’ll just come out and say that Wolf Hall scares me. Not only is it huge, it is also a genre I don’t read. I think I’m persuadable though. I’m still deciding!

    • Sandy – You should not let yourself be intimidated by Wolf Hall! It is long but I found it very entertaining. Maybe you should try it on audio?

  6. You have Tinkers?!? I’ve heard about this book from someone on Twitter who says that it’s her favorite book of 2009. Happy reading and have a great week.

    • I got Tinkers, from the library. I was actually surprised they had it. I don’t remember where I first heard about it. It is an odd and beautiful book.

  7. I LOVE A Place of Greater Safety. One of my favorite books ever. I would love to do a reread if it doesn’t give me carpal tunnel ;-) That was my first Mantel book and I’ve been a fan ever since. I don’t blame you for setting it aside for now, but I’m so excited to hear your thoughts when you do read it!

    • Aarti – I really love Mantel’s writing style and her bloody intelligence! I will read “A Place of Greater Safety” in the Spring.

  8. Ti

    I chose Tinkers for a Friday Finds post one week but haven’t read it yet. It’s getting rave reviews. I believe I saw it first on the NPR site.

  9. I’m looking forward to settling in with Wolf Hall, but have gotten a little sidetracked with Virginia Woolf. Have heard good things about Tinkers (an online group read it last year), so will look forward to your review.

Leave a comment