R.I.P IV – September 1, 2009 to October 31, 2009

rip4300 Thank you Carl V at Stainless Steel Droppings!  I’ve been waiting with bated breath for this challenge,  reading about other people’s anticipation of the event and thinking about what I want to read.

Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, Supernatural…It’s R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril IV!

My book pool:

Turn of the Screw – Henry James

The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins

The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins

Mistress of the Art of Death – Ariana Franklin

We Have Always Lived in  a Castle – Shirley Jackson

The Historian – Elizabeth Kostova

Wait Until Twilight – Sang Pak

There are many other books that I could add to this list.

Stories by:

Robert Aickman

and from the Dark Water anthologies

15 Comments

Filed under R.I.P. IV

15 responses to “R.I.P IV – September 1, 2009 to October 31, 2009

  1. You guys are wearing me down. What I just realized is that I have enough of qualifying books on my shelves to do the challenge already. I may have to succumb…

    • I’ve been waiting for R.I.P. ever since I first heard about it. I figure I’m spending my first blogging year learning which challenges I can actually finish!

  2. I too fell for it. I have so many books lined up for it.

    RIP IV read list

  3. Ooh, I look forward to hearing what books you come up with! I broke down and joined this too…I’d planned not to do anymore challenges this year, but this broke my resolve.

  4. Amanda- I figure I’m spending my first year as a blogger learning about challenges and figuring out which ones I will actually finish! I am really excited about R.I.P.

  5. wow, TWO wilke collins books AND the Historian on the list!! You do like to challenge yourself LOL.. I read the Historian last year and enjoyed it, and have the woman in white on my list but unsure if I will get to it.. too many books so little time!

  6. Such a deliciously eerie line up! Love your potential choices.

    Thank you so much for coming along for the fun this year. I am so glad you are going to be a part of this year’s R.I.P. Challenge and hope you have a great time with it.

  7. What a great set of books Gavin!! The Historian is absolutely amazing. Enjoy it!!

  8. I read THe Historian for another RIP challenge and really enjoyed it. Happy reading!!

  9. This is such a fantastic challenge so glad to see you are joining in! I keep seeing Wilkie Collins showing up on a lot of lists. I just started The Woman in White and think it’ll be the perfect read for the challenge.

    Anyway, have fun!

Leave a comment