Sunday Salon – Catching Up

TSSbadge3

Ah, it is the weekend and the rain has returned.    Book Bloggers Appreciation Week was quite an adventure.  I have found many wonderful blogs to add to my reader, new books to add to my to-be-read list,and  left comments all over the place.  I will be spending time this week visiting newly discovered blogs and saying hello.

Again, bravo to Amy and all the fabulous BBAW volunteers who put so much time and effort into making this event a rousing success.  Congratulations to all the award winners and may you all have a fun-filled year of blogging ’til the next BBAW.

Now, to catch up with my reading.   I finished The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova  and should have my review up by mid-week.  I also read a lovely graphic memoir, French Milk by Lucy Knisley, that I first heard about over at things mean a lot.

I’ve started A Student of Weather for the Canadian Book Challenge and am loving every word.  It is the first time I have read anything by Elizabeth Hay.

bbw_read

September 26 – October 3, 2009 is Banned Books Week.  I want to read banned books during September/October and the first that caught my eye is a book I’ve read before and wanted to read again, In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.  Then I discovered this book , which some  have compared to Capote’s masterpiece.  So, I’m reading both for the  R.I.P. IV challenge.  Not sure in what order, I think reading them at the same time might be too creepy.  Of course, by themselves, either one may be too creepy.

How was your week?  Did you enjoy BBAW?  What are you reading?

Sunday Salon is an important part of my blogging week, I reflect on the past days and plan a bit for the future.  I visit blogs I know and blogs that are new to me.  It is my favorite weekly event.  To find out more about it please visit this site.

25 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

25 responses to “Sunday Salon – Catching Up

  1. “And now to catch up on my reading.” Exactly. It was a fun whirlwind of a week where, like you, I met so many bloggers new to me, but now I am all for less blogging and more reading.

    I also plan to participate in Banned Books Week like last year. Will look out for your posts as this should be really interesting.

    Happy reading!

  2. I spent too much time reading this week and completely missed out on the celebration. Next year!

    • Deb – I’m visiting the BBAW site to check in on new blogs. It was a crazy week. I’m glad to hear you spent time reading!

  3. BBAW was wild ride! Now I need to get back to reading…that will be The Woman in White today. Just read French Milk last week (such a creative travel journal), and I’d love to read In Cold Blood again. Should think about adding in a banned book, too. Have a great week!

    • I loved French Milk and have The Woman in White on my possibles list for R.I.P. but I keep finding other great books for that challenge.

  4. I really want to read French Milk! I look forward to your review.

  5. Lu

    In Cold Blood is probably the scariest book I’ve ever read. I might have to do a post on it and say that it’s the perfect RIP IV book!!

    • In Cold Blood is scary. Absolutely creepy scary. The relationship that developed between Capote and Perry is fascinating. Have you seen the film “Capote” with Philip Seymour Hoffman?

  6. BBAW was a bit overwhelming! I wasn’t able to go through a lot of blogs. (I intend to slowly.)

    But now am reading Agnes Grey and loving it!! Classics are rarely ever a miss with me.

    • I’ve visited lots of new blogs, some I know I will return too. The work that went into BBAW was amazing and I have to applaud all the voluteers.

      I’ve never read Agnes Grey. Will you review it?

  7. I LOVED The Historian. It’s one of my all-time favorite vampire books. Can’t wait to see your review.

    My review actually got pulled from Amazon because apparently it gave away too much of the plot! Sheesh, I had a spoiler warning.

    • Yikes, amazon pulled your review? I’m mulling over what to write about The Historian. I have mixed feelings about it but that may be because I’m jaded:(

      Nothing beats Dracula in my book though Interview With a Vampire is a close second.

  8. I read The Historian before I started blogging and felt it had both highs and lows, so I’m really eager to read your review.

    Also, I’m chagrined to say that I’m a Canadian and have never heard of Elizabeth Hay, so I’m curious to hear more about A Student of Weather once you’re done with it. I must say I like the title a good deal! ;)

    • I really loved A Studeant of Weather and will have to read Hay’s other books.

      Like you I have mixed feelings about The Historian. Hey! I’m finally learning how to use html formatting!

  9. I have A Student of Weather on my TBR pile, but haven’t read it yet. I did read Late Nights on Air by her, though, and it was really good!

  10. I have seen the banned book week in several places. Off to look at it and see what it is about. :)

  11. I am exhausted, both from BBAW and trying to keep up with it while on vacation. Whew! I did love The Historian. I’ll look forward to your opinion! I also loved In Cold Blood. I have read an insane amount of true crime, and this is the epitome of the genre.

  12. I hope you had a great vacation.

    There is time to catch up on all the great BBAW blogs. I’m planning on stopping by the site this week.

  13. I’m catching up on the BBAW blogs myself. Great to meet a lot of fellow bookworms.

Leave a comment