RIP V Challenge – 9/1/2010 to 10/31/2010

Yeah!  One of my favorite challenges it back.  I remember reading ghost stories as a kid and loving that shivery, scary feeling.    Carl V. at Stainless Steel Droppings is organizing the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge for the fifth year.  As Carl says:

It is time to celebrate things that go bump in the night; that favorite detective that always gets his man, or woman, in the end; that delicious chill of a creak on the stairs, of the rogue waiting in the dark, of the full moon and the flit of bats wings.

I am signing up for Peril the Second.  My challenge is to read two books from the following catagories: Mystery, Suspense,Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, or the Supernatural.  I plan on reading Dracula and Something Wicked This Way Comes and, who knows, maybe something else.

To find out more about this challenge visit the sign-up post.


20 Comments

Filed under Challenges2010, RIP V Challenge

20 responses to “RIP V Challenge – 9/1/2010 to 10/31/2010

  1. Good choices! Both books are on my TBR list. I have no idea what to read for this challenge this year. Any suggestions? Good luck on your reading!

    • Vasilly – Both of my RIP books are rereads. I’m looking for something new to add to my list. I love Bradbury. You might try Something Wicked or The October Country.

  2. Oooh, I loved Something Wicked This Way Comes and Dracula both of which I read for the first time several R.I.P. challenges ago. You won’t be disappointed, I’m sure, but you may want to call a guard dog onto your bed for courage when you get into Dracula. Or, maybe that was just me. ;)

  3. Dracula rocks! I think you will love it. I’ve never read Something Wicked This Way Comes, I may have to give it a go. Looking forward to your reviews.

  4. I agree, those are excellent choices. Dracula is a favorite, and I read Something Wicked as a kid and I have very fond memories of it. Great to have you in again this year, Gavin. thanks! :)

  5. Two fantastic choices!! I absolutely adore Something Wicked This Way Comes! One of my all time favorites. If you like that one, I think you’d enjoy continuing with Bradbury with The Halloween Tree :)

    • Chris – This will be the third or fourth time I’ve read “Something Wicked” but I don’t think I’ve read “The Halloween Tree” . I will add it to my list!

  6. I love those two books :) Happy reading!

  7. I loved Dracula when I read it years ago. Considering how the myth has permeated popular culture, Stoker’s book is refreshing and, I’m sure, will surprise you. I hope you enjoy it. I haven’t read Something Wicked This Way Comes. I may have to considering how much people seem to love the book!

  8. Have a great time reading both.

    Please do check out the books I already read for RIP V.

  9. The RIP challenge is one of my favorites too!

  10. I need to read Something Wicked this Way Comes. The library doesn’t have it or I would have read it by now… Happy reading!

  11. I would love to read Dracula this year. I really hope I get to it.

Leave a comment