Sunday Salon – Late Again

Good Sunday to you, and Happy Forth of July and Happy Belated Canada Day to those in the US and Canada.  I’m late again.  Spent last evening reading for Under The Midnight Sun and this morning on the beach with other beach naturalists.  The weather, after a sunny 80 degree Saturday, was grey and cool until about 2:00.  By that time the tide had turned.  The beach was very quiet, few visitors and the ones that were there had perfect beach etiquette.  This kind of low tide day is a respite for the animals, that’s a good thing.

As it is midway through 2011, I thought I would check up on my reading.  So far I’m below my normal count for the first six months the year but I’ve been reading fairly long, somewhat intense novels for the last few months.  I have managed to stay caught up on my challenges, though I drop a couple I lost interest in and added a few personal challenges of my own.

The thing I find most interesting about the books I’ve been reading is the fact that what I consider “5 Star” reads have been few and far between.  Is that because I’ve read fewer books or am I becoming more judgmental as I age?

My favorite books so far, with links to my reviews:

Agaat:a Novel by Marlene Van Niekerk

Annabel by Kathleen Winter

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese

Kamchatka by Marcelo Figueras

How about you?  Are you meeting your reading goals for the year?  What are some of your favorite books read in 2011?

8 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

8 responses to “Sunday Salon – Late Again

  1. Your trip to the beach sounds so relaxing, Gavin. I’ve met my reading goals but I want to read more. I feel like I’m not reading enough. Some of my favorite reads so far include the 15th volume of the Fables series, American Gods (re-read), and Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones. Have a great 4th of July.

    • I need to re-read American Gods and finally read Anansi Boys. I am adding Silver Sparrow to my TBR list (also adding Radioactive!). The beach was wonderful but then it always is:)

  2. Not more judgmental, just more of a discerning taste ;)

    I’ve not read any of your favourites, but have heard wonderful things about Annabel. My favourites reads this year have been Corey Redekop’s Shelf Monkey, Lynn Coady’s Play the Monster Blind, and Amanda Boyden’s Babylon Rolling.

    • Annabel is an amazing book. I read Winter’s short story in The Walrus and enjoyed that too. Now I want to find more of her work. My library actually has a copy of Babylon Rolling so I’m adding it to my TBR list. Thanks for your comments, John, and for the Canadian Book Challenge.

  3. Kamchatka be high up on my list ,beauty and the inferno as well ,all the best stu

    • I am going to have to find a copy of Beauty and the Inferno, it is not out here yet. My library does have a copy of Gommorah but I think I have to be in a certain frame of mind to read that one!

  4. Ti

    I don’t come across many 5 star reads, but I reviewed one today that I gave 5 stars to it on Goodreads (The House of Tomorrow). Fabulous read. Had everything that I love in a book.

    I think I am just becoming more selective with my reads. I mean, we read so much, it’s natural for us to know what’s good and what isn’t. Don’t you think? Some folks give high ratings just for entertainment factors, but I won’t typically do that. It has to be a complete package for me to consider it a 5 star read.

    • I have put The House of Tomorrow on hold at the library. I think you’re right about becoming more selective. When I look at my Goodreads list there are quite a few four star books but a book has to be pretty special, in my eyes, to rate five stars. And I no longer hesitate about giving up on a book if it doesn’t grab me within 30 – 50 pages. There are just too many good books out there!

Leave a comment